People

Shaevitz Lab Photo

Principal Investigator

Joshua W. Shaevitz

Joshua W. Shaevitz
  • Professor of Physics
  • Lewis-Sigler Institute
Phone: 609-258-8177
Fax: 609-258-7070
Email: shaevitz@princeton.edu
Office: 244 Carl C. Icahn Laboratory

Contact Information

Lab location: Carl C. Icahn Laboratory 007
Lab Phone: (609) 258-5959

Faculty Assistant

Dawn Capizzi

Phone: 609-258-1617
Email: dcapizzi@princeton.edu
Office: 145 Carl C. Icahn Laboratory

Postdoctoral Researchers

Muhammad Junaid Amin

Email: mja5@princeton.edu

Benjamin Bratton

Email: bratton@princeton.edu

Katherine Copenhagen

Email: starting November 1, 2017

Matthias Koch

Email: mdkoch@princeton.edu

Graduate Students

Matthew Black

Email: mb46@princeton.edu

Ugne Klibaite

Email: klibaite@princeton.edu

Mochi Liu

Email: mochil@princeton.edu

Guannan Liu

Email: guannanl@princeton.edu

Diana Valverde Mendez

Email: dsmendez@princeton.edu

Talmo Pereira

Email: talmo@princeton.edu

Sagar Setru

Email: ssetru@princeton.edu

Cassidy Yang

Email: c.yang@princeton.edu

Undergraduate Students

Henry Ando

Email: hando@princeton.edu

Richard Huang

Email: rh13@princeton.edu

Megan Ostrowski

Email: megano@princeton.edu

Lab Alumni

  • Peter Combs '08 (Senior Thesis, 2008). "Probing Cell Structural Forces in Escherichia coli"
  • Alexandre Roberts '08 (Senior Thesis, 2008). "Towards Nanometer Resolution in Three-Dimensional Fluorescence Microscopy"
  • Gregory Hohensee '10 (Summer Student, 2008)
  • Bingkan Xue (Grad Experimental Project, Summer 2008)
  • Renee Park '09 (Senior Thesis, 2009). "Physical Properties of Escherichia coli Outer Membrane Tethers Measured by Optical Tweezers"
  • Hugo Arellano-Santoyo (Senior Thesis, 2009). "In Vitro Reconstitution of the FtsZ Ring from Escherichia Coli"
  • Irene Perez '10 (Summer REU student from FIU)
  • Sarah Denny '10 (Senior Thesis, 2010). "Outer Membrane Tethers in Escherichia coli"
  • Yangle Wu (Grad Experimental Project, Spring 2010)
  • Rick Baker (Mol Bio Rotation Student Fall 2010)
  • Tina Huang '12 (Summer 2009)
  • David Tsao '10 (Summer 2009)
  • Lakshmi Bhaskaruny
  • Laura Klotz (Summer 2010)
  • Peter Jin '12 (Summer 2010)
  • Bryan Lincoln (postdoc)
  • Mindy Lin '11 (Senior Thesis, 2010). "Experimental observations of Myxococcus xanthus rotation during motility gliding"
  • Oleksiy Onishchenko '11 (Summer REU student from Lafeyette)
  • Steven Siyuan Wang PhD '11. Currently Assistant Professor at Yale.
  • Mingzhai Sun (Postdoc). Currently Assistant Professor at University of Science and Technology of China-USTC
  • Bohao Liu '13
  • Patrick Morton '13
  • Alexia Miller '12 (Senior Thesis, 2012). "Investigating the Surface Area of Escherichia Coli Membranes"
  • Stephen Pollard '12 (Senior Thesis, 2012). "The Response of Escherichia coli to Hypoosmotic Shock"
  • Teuta Pilizota (Postdoc). Currently at The University of Edinburgh
  • Yi Deng PhD '12. Currently a postdoc with Charles Asbury at the University of Washington.
  • Fabian Czerwinski (postdoc)
  • Nataniel Mandelberg '13
  • Alva Strand '13
  • Benjamin Banusch (2013 visiting student, University of Basel)
  • Sven van Teeffelen (sven at princeton.edu)
  • Molly Carton '14
  • George Liu '15
  • Milos Nikolic '15
  • Daniel Mossing '15
  • Manon Wigbers, Visiting Masters Student 2015
  • Gordon Berman (Postdoc). Currently Assistant Professor at Emory University
  • Nikolay Ouzounov PhD '15
  • Shashi Thutupalli (Postdoc). Currently Assistant Professor at the Tata Institute for Fundamental Research
  • Akeisha Belgrave (Postdoc). Current Assistant Professor at Harrisburg University of Science and Technology
  • Eugenie Martineau (visiting student from CNRS 2016)
  • Oihane Irazoki (visiting student from Univ of Barcelona 2016)
  • David Jacobowitz '16
  • Mary Kate O'Gorman '16
  • Camille Rullon Buxo '17
  • Daniel Choi PhD '17
  • Jeffrey Nguyen PhD '15
  • Jason Manley '17
  • Ashley Linder PhD '17